Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

We had made plans, my friend Raven and I. But, somehow I time warped. I got my days confused…yeah, kinda like “Dazed & Confused”.  I thought we were supposed to meet Wednesday at 8:30am or maybe I just thought Wednesday was Thursday already. The town itself seemed to be stopped in time. The night before a snow storm had dumped enough of the fluffy white stuff to cause a two-hour delay for the school district and all government offices.  The roads were icy and nobody was on the plaza except for  city workers shoveling snow off the pathways.   It was hard to tell if I was awake, or still dreaming. I had left the mountain a little before 8 o’clock in order to make it to Collected Bookworks in time. My phone rang, it was Raven, ” Honey, were not supposed to meet until tomorrow, right?”  Sure, I said..what is today?

Entranced by the scene around me, I sat at the red light.  I watched as an invisible wind whipped through the outside  canopy above the camera store’s window. The scalloped edges of the canvas rippled up and down in a erratic rhythm sending sprinkles of fairy dust like snow into the soft golden sunlight.  ” oh, well, I’m already here, I might as well go sit at the bookstore anyway and start my day, ” I thought.

It’s not often that I allow myself to just sit without a time frame or some kind of schedule.  With my morning now freed up to just be with myself, I decided to see if I could find some Daily Wildness at the coffeeshop/bookstore. I located a small table away from the rest of the non-existent crowd and nestled in next to some other wild creatures.

some of my wild friends!

With all my essentials for survival laid out, I began my search!

chapstick, check! tea, check! phone, check! snack, check! napkins, check!

I grabbed a couple of books on illustration and photography and prepared myself to be inspired!

I fell in love,

with Amy Sol!

looked for patterns in my immediate surroundings that did not require my butt to get up and move.

Found a kindred spirit in the photographs of Douglas Beasley’s art book Earth meets Spirit.

“Photographs symbolize the beauty that resides in all things, the spirit that inhabits all objects, the temporal nature of life experiences”

“Be still with yourself until the object of your attention affirms your presence”

That’s when I noticed a particular object affirming my presence! I looked up on the wall over the fireplace and there silently, beautifully calling to me was this magnificent pair of antlers. A tribute to my own authentic Wildness!

That’s when I came full circle back to my present state and became fully conscious of my existence in that one moment in time.

I was filled with

xoM e e k a h

