Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Free

On February 14th, 2012 I made a huge commitment.

 Finally, after almost 4 decades, one degree, two children, one marriage, one divorce, more physical moves than I can count on two hands, 6 states, one dog, two cats (ok, you get the idea), I decided to pursue my life longing of being an ARTIST!

By artist, I mean illustrator, painter. I have a BA in Photography, but this is not the same. Throughout my adult life, I have continued to let other commitments take the stage in my theater of alloted time and energy. All the while, a longing so deep to draw and paint surged below the surface of my everyday presence.

However, I am taking the unconventional road. As much as I would like to go back to school full-time to honor this endeavor, there is not the funding for someone (even a single mom) to go back to school for a Master’s of Art in my area.  Perhaps one day I will get the chance to dive into endless workshops and even take on an apprenticeship. But, until then, I am going at this as a self-starter.

( I will take this opportunity to mention that I am open to any suggestions you may have about a worthwhile route of e-courses. Should you be aware of any..please feel free to e-mail me at meekahsage@gmail.com)

Basically, I understand the principle that to become a master at anything, one must practice….DAILY!

So, for the first time ever I am taking on a 365 project! 365 projects are something that you do EVERYDAY for a year, and hopefully you get to see evidence of your growth over time and commitment.

I am drawing and painting as my 365 project! Everyday, I will draw and explore paint in a little 3  1/4″ x 3 1/4″ square meant to resemble a day on a calendar. I will post the galleries on the blog by week. My goal is that by the end of the year,  I will  have actualized my dream of being a paid professional artist!

You can view the Gallery of Week One’s paintings HERE!!

all subsequent galleries will be posted in the drop down menu under 365 paint and organized by week!!! Be sure to drop by every Tuesday to get first peeks at what’s new!

What is your dream? What will you do for 365?

xoMeekah

