Deer has entered your life to help you walk the path of love with full consciousness and awareness, to know that love sometimes requires caring and protection, not only in how we love others, but also in how we love ourselves.~ Ina Woolcott

My part-time job is in retail. Granted it is at a greenhouse/garden center, but it still requires that I interact with not only large numbers of people, but also a variety of personalities and emotional projections in 7 hour time blocks three days in a row. Today was one of those days. One of “those” days where everyone that comes through is looking for someone to release their angst onto. These days challenge me. Despite my temperate personal space today, I found myself constantly filtering and deflecting. Breathing as deeply as possible, walking away when need be, and taking breaks helps to some extent. But, until the day is done, stepping back into the muck is required….at least if I hope to continue to receive my minimal paycheck. By the time my dust-covered moth ridden Subaru rolls into my driveway in Happy Valley, my back, hips, legs and feet are aching, and I feel drained of all life force.

Deer’s medicine includes gentleness in word, thought and touch. The ability to listen, grace and appreciation for the beauty of balance. Understanding of what’s necessary for survival, power of gratitude and giving, ability to sacrifice for the higher good, connection to the woodland goddess, alternative paths to a goal ~ Ina Woolcott

I am grateful beyond words that I have this amazing space tucked into the private woods of the mountains to come home to after persevering for the sake of survival. Usually, I walk into my home and feel a rush of relief. Today, I was faced with piles of to-do chores and the impacts of not having tended to them. Not to mention a lamp fell on the floor and the light bulb shattered everywhere as the cats darted out the door… REA.LLY?.. I didn’t even have the energy to scream or freak out. I simply walked away, one foot in front of the other, out the door, down the hill, to the wash and laid flat on the earth on a big pile of quartz. I released all that was attached to me into MAMA, and let healing light cleanse my bare pristine bones.

If a deer crosses your path, this may show you that you are a very compassionate, gentle and loving person. If you don’t have these qualities, then consider if you have a problem that needs addressing. Are you facing a challenge in your life, whether with a fellow human being or a delicate situation? If you are feeling negative emotions such as anger, try letting go. Think about whether a gentler and more loving approach can sort the issue out. ~ Ina Woolcott

Replenished enough to tackle a few of my daunting home space tasks, at least I knew there was less to deal with tomorrow and perhaps I could start my morning in a gentle way. As I breathed through the moment, I noticed the sun begin to set and realized I should give my boyfriend a return call. I was hesitant due to the simple truth that I had nothing left to give to others today. The truth that I needed a quiet evening on my own, and I didn’t want to disappoint his hopes of sharing space for the night.

Grabbing the phone, I headed outside towards the slope to the left of my deck. I figured at least I could watch the sky change while we caught up via the phone. To my delight I noticed the first blooms of one of my favorite local flowers,  Indian Paintbrush. Longing to be close to their energy, I sat in the middle of three small plants that created a triangle and then dialed the digits I know by heart.

Within minutes, my cats had joined me in watching the sunset. Pete sat at my feet, Luna to my right while I chatted softly through the speaker of the phone. The time was now what we call in photography, “magic hour”. It is the time in between when the sun sets and before night falls. I noticed Pete at my feet suddenly freeze into a crouched position, holding motionless and peering at the steep hillside across the wash from where we were sitting. I followed his gaze, and there quietly grazing was a beautiful young Doe. She detected my shift in weight and heard my quiet voice gasp over the phone. Instead of bounding off, she fearlessly looked up and stared straight at me. We locked our eyes on each other and watched and listened for minutes. I found myself gently waving to her, and whispering, “hi beauty!” hoping she would feel my sincerity. Still she stood, relaxed, watching receiving my gestures as non-threatening.

I relayed the scene over the phone and felt a childlike innocence wash over me. Although he couldn’t see the scenario, my man was equally affected. A softness filled our conversation as we shared this magical moment. There was a sense of tenderness in the air as we both realized that this moment was the only one we would get to have together today.

Deer teaches us how powerful it is to be of gentle demeanour, to exert keen observation and sensitivity. Deer’s are in tune with nature and all it comprises. They are sacred carriers of peace and show those with this power animal how to open their hearts and love unconditionally.~ Ina Woolcott

The moment passed and we broke our gaze. The doe moved slowly to the right before quickly changing her mind and bounding back down towards the path from whence she came. I’m not sure what startled her, but it was enough to deter her.

You should also stand strong on your path, in your beliefs, and not allow yourself to get distracted by outside influences.

As I continued on with my brief phone conversation, I recounted the day but refused to go back and relive it. Despite the challenges and everything that is requiring my energy to go elsewhere versus totally into my creative pursuits, I continue to walk my path confidently, knowing that all that is not part of my authentic journey will ultimately fall away.

When a Deer totem enters your world, a new innocence and freshness in about to be awakened. New adventures are just around the corner and there will be an opportunity to express the gentle love that will open new doors for you.

I sure as shit hope so……………….I welcome opportunities backed by gentle love!

xo m e e k a h

